People don’t always suck

This is a photo from the 2010 Chicago Gay Pride Parade.  I know its old but it still makes me feel good.  I have seen so many articles and postings about Christians bashing on gay people saying they are going to burn in hell for their sins.  Usually my first thought is that, wow, these people suck.  How can you judge someone without even knowing how they live their life.  I have several gay friends who are in my life, and I went to a lesbian wedding over the summer (which was one of the best weddings I have been to).  I am a heterosexual man, and yes I get uncomfortable when I see two guys kiss but that does not mean I look down on them for it.  They are just as good of a person as I am, and I know they have more kindness and love in their heart than they know what to do with.

It shouldn’t matter if you’re gay, straight, or bi.  If you’re a good person then you deserve every right to be happy and live the life you want.  Who are we to say otherwise?

2 thoughts on “People don’t always suck

  1. I completely agree with you, what does it matter if someone has a different sexual preference than you. If they care about the other person and it is a loving relationship, who has the right to say that it is wrong. I think that judging people for something like this is focusing your attention on the wrong issues in life when there are actual terrible things people do in this world.

  2. This picture made me smile so big! All you ever hear about on the news is Christians discriminating against the LGBT community and saying such horrible things about them so it’s really nice to see that there are Christians out there who are standing up for our brothers and sisters. I just don’t understand how people who call themselves Christians, who say they love all of God’s children, can be so cruel. I believe that God made each of us who we are for a reason and being gay is not a conscious choice, but rather a part of what makes a person all the more beautiful and unique. I have a very good friend from high school who is gay and I watched him struggle with depression and alcoholism for the longest time because his Christian parents didn’t accept him for the person he was born to be. God loves each of us equally and unconditionally, regardless of sexual preference. And even if being gay is a “sin” like so many Christians say, what right do we have to judge them for it? As Jesus said in John 8:7, “If any among you is without sin, let him be the first to cast the stone.” Every single one of us has sinned. We have no right to be casting stones just because we sin differently.

    –Kelsey–

Leave a Reply

